Atlas Cube are:
Sebastian Beer - bass
Helmar Weiß - drums
Martin Mies - guitar

Band Bio

Atlas Cube formed in Regensburg, Germany, in 2013. Helmar and Sebastian had met during the formation of a short-lived hard rock project. Martin, Helmar's partner from a juvenile instrumental prog effort, had just returned to the area, looking to get a new creative outlet going. The principal concept of „anything goes“-proggy, while still groovy, sounded interesting to everybody. In a first jam session, Martin plugged in, mentioned „This thing's in 5/4 – 6/4“, and went off on the arpeggio which later formed into the song „2.0“. Right then, it was clear that everybody's on the same track; Atlas Cube was born.


The next months led to the concepts for further compositions, eventually forming the songs for the EP. Ideas were drawn out, twisted and intertwined, revised, and sometimes tossed. The dominant concepts eventually distilled out: How can ideas and images, such as the hometown of Regensburg or the course of a relationship over the four seasons of a year, be described in instrumental music? How can odd-metered motives be made to groove and feel smooth? How can different sections and motives be coupled over the course of a song? How can the extended ranges of 7 string guitar and 6 string bass be applied? What happens if you fuse influences of different musical genres? By releasing themselves from the confines of optimized vocal rock, or even allocation to specific musical genres, Atlas Cube have cleared out a framework in which these questions can be explored.

At the end of 2014, the band was ready to head to Stefan Lang's K-Langwerkstatt studio in Mitterfels, leading to the release of their eponymous debut EP in October 2015. The effort war expanded upon with the single "A Change in Time" in 2016, featuring 2 songs expanding the initial material's stylistic range.

Over the course of 2019, the newest EP The Rift was released, outlining the ongoing development of Atlas Cube’s musical experimentation as they’re dealing with separations and changes of many types. Centerpieces of the EP are three full band tracks, building on the foundation of the previous efforts to create dynamic and diverse music within their instrumental trio framework. As a new component, each member added a solo piece to transition into, between, and out of the tracks, rounding out The Rift into a six-piece musical journey through their experiences as a band over the last years. Check it out and experience our tale of separation, disruptive events and blossoming of new life!

In 2020, Atlas Cube are returning to the composition phase for new material. Stay tuned to see and hear what’s next!